Username:    Password:        Click Here To Signup     Forgotten Password
Main Menu
Online
Members: 0

Guests: 19

114.104.x.x forum
18.217.x.x news
36.250.x.x comment
46.229.x.x dilbertplus
46.229.x.x dilbertplus
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x forum
46.229.x.x dilbertplus
46.4.x.x forum
54.234.x.x forum
78.46.x.x forum

Last Seen

mrstipfan Wed 19:48
Gagi2 Mon 16:30
EFiNST0RM Sun 15:39
85filip58 Sun 12:14
brlight Tue 04:18

Newest Members

Forums
How to fix an error and also a question
ergohost
Tue Jul 21 2009, 07:00AM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
Hi, great plugin for Joomla.

Using it here : http://www.saf.net.nz/saf_v2/

The site is a test site I'm building to replace a clan site, its based on joomla 1.5, I want to use LGSL but I'm hitting an error - Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in lgsl_protocol.php on line 1256 - the game in question is BF2142

Also, what are the requirements to be allowed to legitemately remove any branding or copyright from the script?

Website
Rich
Tue Jul 21 2009, 10:10AM
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Nov 26 2003, 04:30PM

How often does this error happen, I cannot see it on the site.

The code is covered by the GPL, in short, if changes are for personal use, do what you like, but making modified code available to download means you have to follow some rules.

There is no issue with removing the link at the bottom, I ask that people post their site on the guestbook or 'post your sites' thread, purely because I enjoy seeing them, but its by no means a legal requirement
Website
ergohost
Wed Jul 22 2009, 01:31AM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
Thanks for the fast response.

The problem went away

I noticed my apache config wasnt inclusive of bzip2, I did a recompile and the problem at fist seemed to persist. I looked at the code and with my very limited knowlege of php it seemed to me the error corresponded to no player listings being displayed. I decided to leave it while I waited for a response here.

Within the following couple of hours it started to display properly and the error became less and less visible until eventually it sorted itself out.

Perhaps the script needed time to settle down interpreting the feed, or perhaps the feed itself wasnt right, its a new gameserver, only been up a couple of days and there have been some config problems the host Hypernia has needed to fettle such as no voip in game and so on.

Seems fine now Very happy with the plugin. Great work.

As to the copyright, its merely the site may go commercial at some point and transition from a private clan site to offering servers, its unclear as yet what the future path will be. I'm trying to build the site off joomla but with the future possibilities I want to make the site as "seamless" as possible Its not so much altering the code as integrating into the look of the site, de-branding etc.

I use a lot of scripts and I appreciate all the work that goes into offerings such as your own and I always stick to the stipulations, pay the fees etc, its only fair.

If its ok with you for now I'll sign the guestbook and post a site link (the site is actually semi secret from the clan even, being developed as a suprise with the permission of the clan leader as a step up from a simple forum for future plans), remove the credit link and if it looks like the site is going commercial I'll pay a donation, whats a suitable amount?
Website
ergohost
Wed Jul 22 2009, 04:56AM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
Damn, its started producing the error again
Website
Rich
Wed Jul 22 2009, 05:47AM
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Nov 26 2003, 04:30PM

Have put this on my list to look into as something is going wrong when it comes to processing the list of players.
Website
ergohost
Wed Jul 22 2009, 12:31PM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
To be accurate the problem seems intermittent, I'll keep checking back to this thread, any idea on a timescale for investigation? If you need access to the site or anything you think might assist you just let me know and I will arrange it.
Website
Rich
Thu Jul 23 2009, 05:03PM
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Nov 26 2003, 04:30PM

Im currently doing an overhaul of code, and as part of that I will look at the code that handles bf2142 ( it also does several other games )

In the mean time, here is a hotfix, it will stop the error, but the player names will still disappear when the problem happens.

http://www.greycube.com/help/lgsl_beta/
Website
ergohost
Fri Jul 24 2009, 10:44PM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
Thanks very much.

When you get the updated code finished let me know, i'd like to volunteer my site as a testbed

Do you accept donations? I cant offer a lot right now but I could make a payment of $50 in a couple of days to thank you for your hard work.
Website
Rich
Sat Jul 25 2009, 07:09AM
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Nov 26 2003, 04:30PM

Will let you know when its done, and there is a donate button on the home page
Website
ergohost
Thu Jul 30 2009, 02:13PM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
Little bit later than I said I would, sorry, but just made you that donation.
Website
Rich
Fri Jul 31 2009, 06:26PM
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Nov 26 2003, 04:30PM

Thankyou
Website
ergohost
Mon Aug 03 2009, 06:59PM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
No problem. Module is working great now btw

Got a question, is it easy to alter the displayed server map name to remove the underscore and mabye capitalize the first letter of every word?

So for example "Highway_tampa" would become "Highway Tampa"

Just been asked if this is possible by the clan leader.

Also been wondering, do you know if BF2142 supports a clickable direct launch that I could use to modify the qtracker link?

Thanks.
Website
Rich
Tue Aug 04 2009, 08:15AM
Posts: 1717
Joined: Wed Nov 26 2003, 04:30PM

I have added some code to make the bf map names consistent, so that will be in the final release.

There is no built in support to launch BF2142, you have to use some software installed on the PC. Some people prefere XFire instead to launch games. There is a stickied thread with launch software and more details.
Website
ergohost
Tue Aug 04 2009, 09:48AM
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 21 2009, 06:50AM
Registered Member #5268
Superb, thanks for that.

Yeah, I read into that post a bit about changing the link, its no big deal, more sort of a what if question. I think theres one clan guy uses xfire, not sure about qtracker. I'll have another read and we will decide how to adjust the linking.

Thanks as always
Website
 

Jump:     Back to top


You are not logged in - Click Here To Signup

Username:    Password:   

Mini Buttons

.... © GreyCube.com - Richard Perry - Powered by e107.org